Goodbye Summer

As an official end to summer, or an official start to fall, I thought I’d post these cupcakes, because they’re so colourful, bright, and sunny, they sort of just scream “summer days” to me.

I made these closer to the beginning of summer for my car’s birthday..yes my car..its my baby and I love it, so it deserved some birthday cupcakes, just like a person!

These mini cupcakes were loved by many, and everyone who had one thought that they were so amazing and asked how I got them to look that way, to which I replied that it was a secret/.hehehe

I used a boxed white cake mix for this because when I was making these it was 9:00 p.m., and life was pretty hectic for me, so for sheer convenience, I just took the easy route, feel free to use your favourite white cake recipe though, I’m sure they’d taste even better. On to the recipe !

Mini Rainbow Cupcakes

1 box white cake mix – mix it up according to box directions
Red, yellow, blue, and green food colouring

Preheat your oven according to the box, and line your mini muffin tins with paper liners (or grease them if you prefer)

Separate the cake batter into 6 bowls, and create your rainbow of colours.
To make purple I put in 9 red drops of food colouring and 6 drops of blue and to make orange I used 12 yellow drops and 4 red drops, for green, yellow, and blue I put in about 12-14 drops, and for red, you’ll need about 18-20 drops of food colouring. The best part about this is that you can easily customize your colours to make them as deep or as pastel-looking as you want. If you want lighter colours, use less food colouring, if you want deeper colours, use more. Super simple and super fun :).

Bake your cupcakes according to the box directions, let them cool, and then frost them with your favourite frosting. I used a white frosting to make the colours stand out and added some coloured sugar on top to tie in with my rainbow cupcakes underneath.

I hope you love these as much as I do, and that whenever you make them, you think of the bright days of summer too :).

About louloulemonade

A 21-year old who loves baking, chocolate, Paris, and Starbucks, manages 2 jobs and school, and loves life :)

Leave a Reply

