Frappucino Inspired – Mocha Coconut Cupcakes

Ever since I tried the new Mocha Coconut Frappucino at Starbucks this season, I have been dreaming about baking something Mocha Coconut flavoured, so when one of my amazing friend’s birthday rolled around, I thought it was the perfect opportunity to make these cupcakes. (It also helps that she is a fan of said Frappucino and she also happens to love cupcakes =P). I decided to make a mocha cake, chocolate-coconut whipped cream filling, and coconut buttercream. I decided to top it off with some toasted coconut (I toasted my own, but feel free to use an already toasted variety) and mini chocolate chips just for added aesthetic pleasure ;).

These cupcakes were good, moist, coconutty, chocolatey, I wish the coffee flavour had come through a bit more though. Either way, they seemed to be loved, so I will count it as a win. I used a boxed Swiss Chocolate cake mix because I was pressed for time, but I think the coffee flavour would have come through better if I had made a mocha cake from scratch (or used instant coffee instead). They’re super easy to make, and even easier to modify by adding or taking things away. I hope you try them out and enjoy them as much as I did :).

Mocha Coconut Cupcakes

Cupcakes:
1 box chocolate cake mix (I used Duncan Hines Swiss Chocolate)
1 cup espresso
1/4 cup water
3 large eggs
1/3 cup oil

Preheat your oven to 350F and line your muffin tins with paper liners or grease them if you prefer.

In a large bowl, beat the cake mix, coffee, water, eggs, and oil for about 30 seconds on low speed (until combined), then increase the speed to medium and blend for about 2 minutes.

Divide the batter into your prepared tins and bake according to the directions on the box, once the cupcakes are done, let them cool in the pan for 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

While they’re cooling, you can mix up your whipped cream filling.

Chocolate-Coconut Whipped Cream Filling:
1 1/4 cup whipping cream
1/4 cup powdered sugar
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1 tsp coconut extract

In a medium bowl, whip the whipping cream on medium-high speed until it begins to thicken, then add the powdered sugar and whip for a few more minutes, next add the cocoa powder and coconut extract and whip until the cream is light and airy but still holds its shape.

To fill the cupcakes, cut out a cone in the middle of the cupcake with a paring knife or scoop out a little bit of the middle with a melon baller. I used a paring knife and cut off the cone part at the bottom so I could replace the top after I filled the cupcake. Put the whipped cream filling into a plastic bag (or piping bag if you wish) and pipe the icing into the middle of the cupcake. Once the filling has been piped, replace the top, or “hat” onto the cupcake and move on to the next cupcake. What I found easiest was to cut the centres out of the cupcakes first, but replace the tops as I went along so that every cupcake had its original hat when I went back to fill them.

On the the buttercream!

Coconut Buttercream
1/2 cup butter at room temperature
4 cups icing sugar
4 tbsp light cream or milk
2 tsp coconut extract

In a large bowl, beat butter, sugar, and your milk or light cream until combined, add the coconut extract and beat until thick enough to spread or pipe onto cupcakes. Frost cupcakes as desired and then devour them, cuz they’re awesome.

About louloulemonade

A 21-year old who loves baking, chocolate, Paris, and Starbucks, manages 2 jobs and school, and loves life :)

Leave a Reply

