Banana Carob Chip Muffins

Hello Gorgeous Readers!

I hope you are enjoying your days today, I decided I would post these banana carob chip muffins today because where I live, its a beautiful spring day (without rain..finally), and when I think of nice days, I think of yellow, and yellow reminds me of bananas…or something 🙂

I didn’t have enough banana’s so I used about a third of a cup of apple sauce and one very ripe banana, I also added flax meal to my muffins to kick the health factor up a notch, but if you prefer to omit them, please do, same thing with the carob chips, I wanted to use something other than chocolate chips, but feel free to replace them with anything that you prefer, cinnamon chips, dark chocolate chips, milk chocolate chips, the options are really endless. Another note, the original recipe says the yield is 16 muffins, I tend to overfill my muffin tins, so I only got 11 muffins out of the batch, but you can use your own discretion.

Anyways, I’m off to enjoy the weather for a bit before work, I hope you enjoy the muffins ! 🙂

Banana Carob Chip Muffins – Slightly adapted from Jaime Cooks It Up !
1 1/2 cups flour
1 tbsp flax meal
1 cup sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 egg
1/2 cup plain or vanilla yogurt (I used fat free vanilla)
1 ripe banana
1 small container unsweetened apple sauce (about 1/3 of a cup)
1 cup carob chips

Preheat your oven to 375F and line your muffin tin with paper liners. In a medium bowl combine flour, flax meal, sugar, baking soda, and salt.

In your stand mixer or with a hand mixer, beat the egg, add bananas and apple sauce and mix until it is smooth. Add yogurt and mix for about 30 seconds, then add the dry ingredients and mix until they are just moistened, gently stir in carob chips. Divide the batter evenly between all cups and bake for approximately 20-25 minutes.
Let them cool in the pan for 5-10 minutes, then put them on a wire rack to cool completely.

About louloulemonade

A 21-year old who loves baking, chocolate, Paris, and Starbucks, manages 2 jobs and school, and loves life :)

Leave a Reply

