“The Comeback”



Hello Beautiful Readers,

I know, its been a long, long, long, long…….long time, but I’m back (hopefully). Things got a little crazy for me with school and work and other commitments, but I’m getting into the habit of writing a bunch of posts when I have some downtime, so hopefully I’ll be able to post more regularly, especially now that I don’t have school to worry about :).

For my “comeback” post I wanted to post something awesome, but super simple so that it’s easy to whip up in no time at all, and these Twix Cookies and Kit Kat Cookies seemed to fit the bill perfectly. I mean really, what’s better than a chocolate chunk cookie amplified with Twix and Kit Kat pieces. Mmm..my mouth is watering just thinking about them.

I love the flavour that the brown sugar lends to these cookies, and I prefer them fresh out of the oven, but they also taste delish the next day. I suggest storing them in an airtight container at room temperature for a day or two, but any longer than that I think it would be best to put them in the fridge or freezer so that they stay fresh.

I changed the recipe slightly by splitting the recipe in half and putting Twix pieces in one half, and Kit Kat pieces in the other, I just wanted some variety..and my sister doesn’t like Twix so I made some with Kit Kat for her :). I also didn’t have enough Twix/Kit Kat pieces so I threw in some dark chocolate chunks and I loved the contrast between the sweet candy bars and dark chocolate. These cookies are very chocolatey, so if you aren’t a fan of too much chocolate in your cookies, then I also suggest cutting the amount of chocolate in half :).

I hope you enjoy these cookies as much as I did !

Twix & Kit Kat Cookies – slightly adapted from Sprinkled with Flour

2 cups plus 2 tbsp all-purpose flour
½ tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. salt
12 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted and cooled until warm
1 cup packed brown sugar
½ cup granulated sugar
1 large egg plus 1 egg yolk
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1/2 cup coarsely chopped Twix bars (1 whole bar)
1/2 cup coarsely chopped Kit Kat bars (about 2 sticks)
1 cup coarsely chopped dark chocolate, divided
1 tbsp flaxseed meal (optional, I put it in everything)

Preheat your oven to 325°. Coarsely chop the Twix bars, Kit Kat bars, and dark chocolate (what I did was put the half cup of Twix in one bowl, half cup of Kit Kat in another, and half of the dark chocolate in each bowl so it was ready to go when I needed it).

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, flaxseed meal (if using) baking soda and salt; set aside. In the bowl of an electric mixer, mix butter and sugars until thoroughly combined. Beat in egg, yolk, and vanilla until combined. Add dry ingredients to the sugar mixture and beat at low-speed just until combined. Divide the dough in half and stir in ( I used my hands, teehee) the Twix and dark chocolate into one half, and Kit Kat and dark chocolate into the other.

Roll (or use your trusty ice cream scoop like I did) about a quarter cup of dough into a ball and place onto a prepared cookie sheet. Bake for approximately 15-17 minutes, until cookies are light golden brown and outer edges start to harden yet centers are still soft and puffy, ensuring that you don’t overbake them. Allow the cookies to cool completely on the baking sheet before storing. Then, pour yourself a tall glass of milk and eat one..or five, whatever floats your boat 🙂

About louloulemonade

A 21-year old who loves baking, chocolate, Paris, and Starbucks, manages 2 jobs and school, and loves life :)

Leave a Reply

